SL vs PAK 2022 – Prabath Jayasuriya, Dunith Wellalage picked ahead of Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya in squad

Both Embuldeniya and Jayawickrama have been dropped on account of modest form. Embuldeniya claimed only one wicket and went for 177 in his last two Tests, Jayawickrama went wicketless and conceded 155 in a Test in Dhaka, in May.

Although 19-year-old Wellalage has not played a Test, he was the top-wicket-taker in Sri Lanka’s ODI series win against Australia. He also offers some batting down the order.

In selecting the squad, Sri Lanka have also taken the unusual step of naming two wicketkeepers – incumbent Niroshan Dickwella, as well as Dinesh Chandimal, who has played as a specialist batter in the last two series.

There are no real surprises on the batting front. Kamindu Mendis secures a place after having made a half-century in his first Test innings this week.

The first Test will be played from July 16 in Galle, followed by the second from July 24 in Colombo. The series will be part of the World Test Championship, in which Sri Lanka are placed third and Pakistan fourth.

Squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Pathum Nissanka, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Ramesh Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Prabath Jayasuriya, Dunith Wellalage, Jeffrey Vandersay

Leave a Comment

स्वदेशी युद्धपोत INS विक्रांत भारतीय नौसेना में शामिल Glimpse from US open 2022 Redmi 11 Prime 5G phone to launch September 6, 2022 Redmi 5G Smartphones Clues for Quordle 220 for September 1
%d bloggers like this: